#CBR5 Review #5: Is Everyone Hanging Out without me? by Mindy Kaling

I realize that Is Everyone Hanging Out without Me has made the rounds by now on Cannonball Read, but I just *had* to read it, too. And I’m glad I did. I’m normally not a huge fan of memoirs, but Bossypants was by far one of the most delightful things I had ever read. I was afraid that I would keep comparing it to Bossypants, but Kaling differs drastically from Tina Fey’s style and voice.

Kaling chronicles her childhood and adolescence as a comedy nerd, her attempts to break into theater with her two-person show Ben and Matt, and the process of becoming a writer on The Office. There are also lots of pictures, lists, and other delightful miscellany that take it out of the typical “memoir” genre and bring a more interactive experience for readers.

There were several moments where I had to put the book down because I was laughing too hard. I also had to share several excerpts with my husband aloud. Mindy’s writing style is witty and funny, and there are too many “soundbytes” worth sharing. One of my personal favorites was her description of being dressed in a vaguely asexual manner, like Bert from Sesame Street. As a person who grew up with a bowl cut and baggy clothes in the 90s, I totally get that.

Mindy Kaling’s memoir was one of the best things I’ve read so far this year and last. I’d highly recommend it to just about anyone.

2 Comments

Filed under #CBR5

2 responses to “#CBR5 Review #5: Is Everyone Hanging Out without me? by Mindy Kaling

  1. Pingback: bonnie’s #CBR5 Review #5: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling | Cannonball Read V

  2. gaby dormus

    I literally had to stop because my husband was trying to sleep and I was shaking the bed due to my loud shaky laughter. Her picture in the back of “androgynous kids with puppets, i died.

Leave a Reply

