#CBR5 Review #11: From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris

As has been my CBR5 MO, I follow up a serious, intellectual choice with Sookie Stackhouse. Mostly it’s an effort to pace myself, because I really don’t want to run out of Sookie novels. But seriously, after some of the reading I’m doing this semester, it’s a real treat not to have to engage with some dense theory.

This novel finds Sookie worried about her missing boyfriend, Quinn the weretiger, while trying to sort out Jason’s relationship with Crystal, and her own status as “friend of the pack,” especially when an attempt is made on her life. Business as usual. Me? I wasn’t too sad about Quinn’s disappearance, since his continual use of the word “babe” as a term of endearment¬†is a major dealbreaker.

Dealbreaker

I’m starting to wish that Sookie and Eric would just figure out their baggage and just hook up forever. I realize that Eric is not the most ethical of people, but he sure is delightful. And he beats that old sad-sack Bill. Gah, Bill annoys me. And let’s not even get into how emo Alcide is becoming.

The changing world of the vampires and werewolves has also been quite enjoyable to read about, and I hope that Ms. Harris keeps developing the aspects of the Bon Temps world and beyond. Clearly, I am a fan of the series, so I enjoyed myself.

 

1 Comment

Filed under #CBR5

One response to “#CBR5 Review #11: From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris

  1. Pingback: bonnie’s #CBR5 Review #11: From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris | Cannonball Read V

Leave a Reply

