#CBR5 Review #36: The Betsy-Tacy Treasury by Maud Hart Lovelace

Can you believe I’ve not yet made it through the Betsy-Tacy anthology? Yeah, me either. But I’m beginning to rectify that, and thanks to the republication of this series, I can discover it for the first time, like decades of women before me.

There are four books in the first anthology of the series: Betsy-Tacy, Betsy-Tacy and Tib, Betsy and Tacy Go Over the Big Hill, and Betsy and Tacy Go Downtown. Each one grows progressively more mature as Betsey and company grow just a few years older. Betsy Ray and Tacy Kelly first become best friends when they turn five years old, and this series goes over all their many adventures together in Deep Valley, a fictional town in Minnesota.

What I loved most about this series was the simple joys of imaginative childhood explored in a simplistic voice, appealing to both children and adults alike. I certainly plan on finishing all the books, and I plan to pass them down to the children in my life, as well. If you haven’t read them, you absolutely MUST.

1 Comment

Filed under #CBR5

One response to “#CBR5 Review #36: The Betsy-Tacy Treasury by Maud Hart Lovelace

  1. Pingback: bonnie’s #CBR5 Review #36: The Betsy-Tacy Treasury by Maud Hart Lovelace | Cannonball Read V

Leave a Reply

