#CBR6 Review #113: Coraline by Neil Gaiman

There’s no one like Neil Gaiman. He walks the line between faerie and frightening with incredible deftness, and he mines the wondrous/horrifying imagination of children in a way that cuts your heart as an adult. It’s remarkable and scary all at once.

In other news: I finally read Coraline. I devoured it in a big gulp, but I also shivered in some parts. And the illustrations definitely enhance the book.

Coraline Jones is a young girl whose family has moved to a big house. But there’s a strange room and a strange door and a strange key that seems to lead to a brick wall, but actually unlocks to a new corridor one day. There, Coraline discovers her house—but it’s an odd exaggeration of her house. There’s another mother and another father, another bedroom, and replications of her upstairs neighbors. The food tastes better, and her parents pay complete attention to her. But Coraline can’t shake the nagging feeling that something is very, very wrong. It’s up to her cleverness and imagination to bring her back to her real home and her real parents.

There are a few things I learned from this book:
1. Never trust anyone with button eyes.

2. Cats are friends. They will help a sister out.

3. Mice seem to know what is happening. Rats are rats.

4. Dolls are useful decoys.

5. Neil Gaimain is a genius, and I want him to write *all* the things.
I tried to watch the film adaptation once, but it freaked me out. Maybe now that I’ve read it, I’ll be better prepared? I did greatly enjoy this book, and I think that this is one of those novels that is for kids, just as it’s not for kids all at once.
Leave a comment

Filed under #CBR6

Leave a Reply

