#CBR7 Review #166: Saga (Vol. 4) by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Oh, now I’m sad. I’ve read all my Saga and now I have to wait until September. Like the rest of everybody. That’s the problem with really loving something in the moment—you catch up and you can’t binge read/watch it. Blargh.

Volume 4 takes place a few years after the events of the third. By now, Hazel is an adorable toddler, though her narrative voice is still that of a much older individual. Both Alana and Marko are trying to figure out how to make ends meet when not immediately in danger. That’s where the story takes its most heart-wrenching turn yet. I’m not going to spoil it for you, but for a lot of people, the tensions that take place are domestic in nature, and they could occur in the Midwestern United States, in the 1800s, or in an intergalactic space opera. The complexity of the characters and their relationships to one another really builds in this volume. Gwendolyn meets someone from The Will’s past. Prince Robot IV has gone rogue. The Lying Cat is still the best thing ever. Again, the art is incredible, and the humor/pathos/adventure are all still in place. All is as it should be.

I’m really eager to see where Vaughan and Staples take Volume 5. Volume 4 ends on a cliffhanger, and I’m eager to see what happens in the end. I mean, I’m probably going to get my heart crushed in the end, but isn’t that what a heart is for (at least when it comes to books)?

Leave a comment

Filed under #CBR7

Leave a Reply

