#CBR8 Review #35

The Bassoon King: My Life in Art, Faith, and Idiocy by Rainn Wilson

I watched the British version of The Office when it was released to DVD, and I enjoyed it. Then, I grew to love its American counterpart once it had grown into itself a bit (Season 3 was my entrance to the show). While I was never a huge Dwight fan, I appreciate the complexity and nuance with which Rainn Wilson imbued the character. So I was delighted to see the audiobook version of his memoir The Bassoon King at my local library last month. The Chancellor and I took it on a roadtrip and have finally finished it, thanks to Spring Break!

Wilson’s is a colorful and interesting life. The Bassoon King chronicles his fractured family and childhood, his forays into acting and music in high school, and his decision to become an actor. He talks about the struggle of “making it” in a vicious industry, the problems with drug and alcohol abuse in his twenties, and falling in love with his wife and their son. He explores the role his Baha’i faith has played in his life and philosophy. And yes, he dishes on The Office, which was truly, truly delightful. He describes his instant acting chemistry with John Krasinski, especially in improvising their lines, and I squeed internally.

tumblr_nuiksym9HA1tjscb8o1_500

Seriously. So. Great.

I deeply appreciate the insight with which Wilson approaches his life, his acting profession, and his faith. I enjoyed his book, but I definitely thought that his own voice reading his audiobook was an added delight. If you want to check this out, you can’t go wrong with the audiobook. His foreword as Dwight K. Schrute is especially hysterical when you hear it, as opposed to reading it.

Leave a comment

Filed under #CBR8

Leave a Reply

