#CBR8 Review #84

The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes (Sherlock Holmes #9) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

All right, folks. I’ve finally reached the end—the last of the Sherlock Holmes mystery collections! I’m excited to have made my collection complete. I don’t know if I’ll need to go through a re-read of the entire series again, though I definitely have favorite stories I’ll want to revisit. I’ve definitely decided NOT to go through with the Anthony Horowitz adaptations, but I WILL be giving the Mary Russell books a try. And I definitely need to rewatch some Sherlock after this.

As I’ve done before, here are some of the standouts from this collection, which is written long after Holmes’s retirement and are reproduced when it is “safe” to do so:

“The Adventure of the Blanched Soldier”: while this is not actually the best story, I include it to be reviewed, because I actually guessed the solution correctly! Hooray for me. Holmes is called to investigate a soldier’s disappearance and then sudden, furtive reappearance at his family home. His appearance is so altered, that his concerned friend wants to know what is behind this secrecy.

“The Adventure of the Three Garridebs”: John Garrideb comes to Sherlock Holmes looking for a third man named Garrideb. He has come across a Nathan Garrideb and has a proposition for an inheritance to be split three ways by three men named Garrideb. Instantly suspicious, Holmes and Watson go to investigate. It is here that we see the true love and friendship Holmes genuinely does feel for Watson. It’s very endearing.

“The Adventure of the Lion’s Mane”: Here, Holmes has retired but finds himself solving a mystery in his new country home. A man has been found murdered by the seaside, his back a series of angry welts that look like he has been flogged. When a second man has been murdered, Holmes must decide how to confront the killer.

And there you have it! My Sherlock Holmes read-a-thon has come to an end! On to other things on my library shelf. I’m excited for the next books in store. And some Laurie R. King reading when that gets done.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under #CBR8

Leave a Reply

