#CBR8 Review #96

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

I’m embarking on a Madeleine L’Engle re-read. Glorious, I know. I’ve read through the Time Quintet and A Ring of Endless Light, but I’ve not read her sequence involving the Murrys, O’Keefes, and Austins, so I’m looking forward to all the books. Because I’m a completionist, I’m starting from the beginning. Part of my library stack-beast is comprised of L’Engle series books that I don’t already own, so I thought starting from the beginning would be best.

Meg Murry doesn’t know where she stands in life. Just entering adolescence, she is awkward, stubborn, and sometimes uncommunicative. She feels ugly and gangly, not as smart as her parents and youngest brother Charles Wallace, not as popular as her twin brothers Sandy and Dennys, nor as beautiful as her mother. So when she meets a strange being, named Mrs. Whatsit, in the garden, she has no idea that her life is about to turn upside down. She, Charles Wallace, and Calvin O’Keefe—another boy in school—decide to follow Mrs. Whatsit and her sisters, Mrs. Who and Mrs. Which, thank you very much, to space and a “wrinkle” in the time-space continuum (a tessera) to find the missing Murry father. They uncover a sinister plot to destroy the universe and must band together to overcome the forces of evil.

I had finished reading this book about a week before Chelsea Clinton mentioned this in her introduction of her mother during the Democratic National Convention and I freaked out pretty hard (also, the fact that my potential future president’s movie night choice is Pride and Prejudice, because clearly, she has taste). It’s a book that stands the test of time, because it takes some universal themes and gives them a new twist. It’s a favorite book of mine, one I have passed out as a gift many times. Also: Aunt Beast. My friend M was living with a family one year in college, and she was borrowing an ancient Oldsmobile that belonged to their daughter who was studying abroad. I nicknamed the car Aunt Beast, and it stuck. Aunt Beast is the shizzle, you guys. And she knows it.

Leave a comment

Filed under #CBR8

Leave a Reply

