#CBR9 Review #16

Ms. Marvel, Volume 5: Super Famous by G. Willow Wilson, Takeshi Miyazawa, Adrian Alphona, and Nico Leon

I think I might have been missing something. Last Days ended on a serious cliffhanger, and somewhere before Super Famous, there must have been a Marvel cross-over somewhere. I was pretty confused about the sudden shift in tone and plot, and I think I spent most of the volume being pretty disoriented. I don’t know if I’ll continue reading the series, if it’s heading in this direction, instead of living within its own universe.

Super Famous takes place several months after the events of Last Days. By now, Kamala is an Avenger, and Bruno’s puppy love for Kamala has been shifted into a new direction: his girlfriend, Michaela Miller, or Mike (truly the best new character addition). Aamir is interested in a young woman, and he wants Kamala to be his chaperone. Kamala is struggling to balance school and Avengers stuff, as well as her family obligations. She and Bruno decide to clone her a few times, because what could go wrong with that? (Obviously, everything).

The story itself, especially if it had occurred earlier in the series, is fine and has most of the elements that make Ms. Marvel such a joy to read. However, I found the tonal shift to be strange from the somberness of the Last Days episode to the cheeriness of Super Famous. I also didn’t care for the Avengers crossover, which is more personal taste, I suspect. And another complaint has to do with the way Nakia has been poorly served throughout the series—it comes to a head here and absolutely must be addressed at some point. I don’t know if I’ll continue reading the series. I’ll see if Volume 6 is too Avenger-y before I decide.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under #CBR9

Leave a Reply

