#CBR9 Review #63

The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher

I’ve been waiting for about two months for the library audiobook hold to come through, and it finally arrived! And then, of course, I was busy with podcasts and other listening flotsam before I made my way to Carrie Fisher’s final book. It was a bittersweet experience, partly because it was the last, and partly because it wasn’t the best.

Fisher discovered some old diaries that she had written while filming the first Star Wars film and decided to write a book about that experience, the life-changing three months that turned her into an international sensation rather than a celebrity brat. She talks about auditioning for both George Lucas and Brian De Palma simultaneously, for Star Wars and Carrie (can you imagine how trippy that might have been: Carrie playing Carrie in Carrie???), and getting the role of Leia. She also spends time unveiling a heretofore unknown three-month affair with Harrison Ford, her then-married costar. She unpacks the complexity of that affair and her feelings about coming of age through that affair. In the audiobook, her daughter Billie Lourd reads the diary entries to give us a sense of her youthful voice.

Because this focused on the more personal aspect of Ms. Fisher’s life, instead of the making of Star Wars itself, I was a little let down. Don’t get me wrong, I will take whatever Carrie Fisher I can get. But I was not particularly eager to read the sordid details about her affair with Ford (but I’m not a huge fan of him, to be honest, so maybe that’s where my lack of enthusiasm comes in). Anyway, rest in peace, Carrie Fisher. You are gone too soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under #CBR9

Leave a Reply

